Home  
 
  Projects Photos Films Merch Contacts Stupid Links  
 
Hi everyone,

My name is Roach and this is the first website I've made (with help of Mathieu Bélanger), shut the fuck up if you don't like it. For those who know me, I don't have to tell you who I am, but for the others, here are some explanations: I was born at the Hawkesbury General Hospital, in Ontario. We were living on the other side of the bridge, on the Quebec side, in Grenville, on the shore of the Ottawa River. When I was 9, my parents got divorced and I went to live in Ontario with my mother (Hawkesbury and Alfred).

But there I started to smoke hash. I was 13 when my mother caught me and I went back to my father's. I did a detox when I was 14 and at the end of my 14th year. I was put in juvie. This is where things began to fall apart!!! A juvenile detention centre is like a jail, aka Crime & Drug School. Anyway, my father couldn't stop me from smoking dope so he had me thrown in juvie. But me, I only wanted my freedom, so I ran away. But when you run away, where do you go? Not at your dad's or family's for sure, they'll call the cops. Not at your friend's either 'cuz you'll either be a pain in the ass or get them nailed for hiding you. So you don't have that many alternatives and I chose the streets of Montreal because it's a big city and when I was a kid, the city was magnificent!

But I fell into hard drugs while I was in the streets. I won't go into details but I can say that I've tried them all. From glue to acid, to PCP, to the needles, everything! And one day I met this guy who needed a film subject and wanted to teach me the film making process, but at first he wanted to document my life. This guy is Daniel Cross. Today I owe him my life and the fact that I wanna do something with my life now, and I will forever be grateful to him for the support he gave me when I decided to quit hard drugs and needles!!! Without Daniel and Mila (Spit cameraman and producer) I would be dead! They gave me a camera to document my life and that's how I landed on my feet. With my camera, I did SPIT of course, but I also traveled across Canaduh! With my friend Smash and I documented our trip in Western Canaduh! The Quebecers in the Okanagan Valley, Vancouver, the cherry trees, friends, desert, we filmed a bunch of shit!

So I continue to carry on this way, hoping the team at Eye Steel Film will support me again and that I will learn more things, like html that I just learned and I have some problems understanding parts of it, but hey! What the heck! So I hope you'll enjoy your visit here and that you will learn more about me and you'll go see some pictures of my friends!

Cheers,
Roach


Tuesday April 10th, 2007

Hi Everyone! If some of you guys are in Toronto Saturday April 21st at 11h30PM and don't know what to do (because there is nothing to do in Toronto at this time of the night), I may have a suggestion for you! My new film "PUNK THE VOTE" will be playing at the Bloor Cinema (506 Bloor street west) in its Toronto Premiere. The film is playing in the HOTDOCS: Canadian International Documentary Festival and is in nomination in the "Democracy" category. If you are not able to make it on Saturday or it is too late for you, it's ok! The film will also play at the Innis Town Hall (2 Sussex avenue) at 6h30PM. Hope I'll see you there!


Saturday March 17th, 2007

Hello everyone, I am really sorry for the late update and news. I was so busy with the promotion of "Punk The Vote", my new film. But I didn't forgot you, and didn't forgot the site, even if the important dates are passed which I'm really sorry about this... So to start, "punk The Vote" was nominated for Best Documentary Hope at the R.V.C.Q (Rendez Vous du Cinéma Québécois). During this film festival, the film played twice: once in Montreal, and the other in Quebec City. My wife and I (yes I am getting married) also went to a press screening of "Punk The Vote" in Quebec City and we went in a limousine, that was a fucked up situation!!! After that, the film was presented at Granada Theatre in Sherbrooke. I also presented "Punk The Vote" in some High School and College. And finally, the film was presented last Sunday, March 11th, at Canal D, a french TV Station. We had a big party to celebrate the first time in career that one of my film played on TV. I am really proud of this and my friends and relatives are also very proud of me.. To conclude this update, here is the big news!!! "Punk The Vote" was accepted at "Hot Docs: Canadian International Documentary Festival" and is nominated in the category "Democracy". So I am really really sorry about this late update but from now on I'll keep you updated for the next events to come.

Wednesday September 27th, 2006

YO EVERYONE!!! The World Premiere of "Punk The Vote: Roach in election" will be happening Friday October 20th at 9h pm at Ex-Centris cinema situated at 3536 boul. St-Laurent. Come and bring all your friends for this event. The film will be followed by a question and answer period and after their will be a huge party with bands, beers and DJ...

Monday August 21st, 2006

Hi All! Good news on this update. My new film "Punk The Vote" was just accepted by the festival of New Cinema, here in Montreal. So I am gonna world premiere my film in October. I don't have the dates and times yet but I'll keep you guys inform. Stay connected, Thanx.

Wednesday May 03rd, 2006

THEY ARE FINALLY HERE. Get your hand on a copy of the DVD of ROACHTRIP freshly out of the machine. The DVD includes The Film but also 2 short films of Roach, which are ZLEA and RoachTrip to Tver. Available Online at www.eyesteelfilm.com

Thursday April 18th, 2006

Here is a new little film for you guys. It is a demo of a film I was suppose to do but never did due to lack of funding...

Thursday April 13th, 2006

We're gonna get fucked!

Monday February 13th, 2006

Interesting article from La Presse! (in French)

Tuesday January 24th, 2006

The Tories Won

Wednesday January 11th, 2006




Electoral Campaign 2006
Press Release 01
For immediate release

Punk Filmmaker Eric Roach Denis announces his official candidacy for the upcoming federal election as an independent running in the riding of Outremont.

Montreal, Tuesday January 3rd 2006 – The Director General of Elections Canada has confirmed the candidacy of Eric Roach Denis for the upcoming federal elections on January 23rd.

Today, Roach is presenting himself as an independent candidate in the Liberal stronghold of Outremont. His goal is to give a voice to those who don’t have one; those who are marginalized or who have traditionally been left out of the political process. In support of this cause, Roach’s platform is based on the need for proportional representation in Canada’s parliament.

“I want to instigate change in the Canadian electoral system so that all Canadians and legitimate points of view are represented in Ottawa. People on the fringes and those with alternative points of view are often excluded from Canadian society, and nowhere is this more apparent then in politics. Things have to change.”

“Fear drives people to vote against their heart and political convictions. As a consequence, they vote for the Liberal Party. This means that their real point of view is not represented and therefore voters have become disillusioned. I have noticed this particularly among the youth – often poor - from my generation, who are losing their desire to vote. Voting strategically doesn’t do anyone any good. You have to vote for an idea, rather then against it.”

Contact informations:
Press center
(514) 937-4893
Halima Ouardiri
halima@eyesteelfilm.com

Monday November 14th, 2005: ALL RIGHT! Finally my new short film I did in July with my buddy Smurf is available. Just go down this page and click on "FILMS", there you'll find a nice little film on the FTAA call "ZLEA: Zone Libre d'Expression Anarchiste" which means a Free Zone of Anarchist Expression...

July 25th 2005: The Quebec Arts Council, and Canal D had accepted to fund the making of my film idea, Starbuck: The King of Rock. It will now make this film for real. It is not an idea anymore but it is the reality now. I will keep you inform...

May 10th 2005: The film DIY : Le punk Hardcore Montréalais (DIY : Montreal Hardcore Punk) was refused funding by the SODEC so I won’t be completing the film and have switched to Starbuck: Le roi du Rock (Starbuck: The King of Rock), but this new idea has just been chosen for the CTV Documart in Banff. I have to lay out my idea for 21 juries, there are six teams in competition and the grand prize is 50 000$. For more info go to: http://www.banff2005.com/pitch.details.php?p=ctv.

http://www.banff2005.com/schedule.php?d=all&s=843#843

Wish me luck on the Message Board!!!


 
Copyright @ Roachcam 2005

Acceuil  
 
  Projets Photos Films Merch Contacts Niaiseux Liens  
 
Salut tout le monde,

Mon nom cé Roach pi ça c'est mon premier site que je fais (avec l'aide de Mathieu Bélanger), faque soyez pas trop regardant!!! Pour ceux qui me connaissent, j'ai pas besoin de vous dire qui je suis mais pour ceux qui ne me connaissent pas, voici quelques explications:

Je suis né à l'hôpital générale de Hawkesbury, en Ontario. Nous vivions de l'autre bord du pont du côté du Québec, à Grenville, aux abords de la rivière des Outaouais. Lorsque j'avais 9 ans, mes parents se sont divorcés et je suis allé vivre avec ma mère en Ontario, à Hawkesbury et ensuite à Alfred, aussi en Ontario.

Mais là j'ai commencé à fumer du hash, j'avais environ 13 ans pi ma mère m'as pogné et je suis retourné vivre avec mon père. J'ai fait une thérapie à mes débuts de 14 ans et à la fin de mes 14 ans, j'étais en centre d'acceuil. Cé là que tout a foirré!!! Un centre d'acceuil cé comme une prison, donc une école de crime et de drogues! VIVE LA RÉHABILITATION!!! DPJ=Dépotoire Pour Jeunes... En t k, mon père pouvait pas empêcher ma consommation de cannabis faque y m'a placé. Mais moé là, je voulais seulement être libre, faque j'ai fugué. Mais quand tu fugues, tu vas ou? Pas chez ton père ou ta famille certain, y vont appeler les cochons, ni chez des amis pour pas devenir un fardeau et les mettre dans la marde parce qu'ils t'hébergent, faque y te reste pu grand options, moé j'ai choisi la rue de Montréal parce que c'es tgrand et que dans le temps la ville me faisais tripper!

Mais là chu tombé dans les drogues dures en étant dans la rue. Bon ça je tomberais pas dans les détails mais on peut dire que j'ai tout fait, de la colle à l'acide, au PCP à la seringue, vraiment de tout! Et un jour j'ai rencontré un gars qui voulais meprendre comme sujet de film et il voulais aussi me montrer le métier de cinéaste, mais il voulais d'abord documenter ma vie. Cet homme cé Daniel Cross. Aujourd'hui, je lui doit la vie ainsi que la volonté de faire de quoi de bon avec ma peau, et je vais lui être reconnaissant toute ma vie pour le support qu'il m'a donné quand j'ai décidé d'arrêter les drogues dures, les seringues!!! Sans Daniel et Mila (caméraman de SPIT ainsi que producteur), je n'y serais jamais arrivé. Il m'a donné une caméra pour que je documente ma vie et c'est comme ça que ma vie est retombée du bon pied. Avec ma caméra, j'ai fait SPIT bien entendu, mais j'ai aussi fait le tour du Canaduh! Avec mon ami Smash et j'ai documenté notre voyage dans l'ouest canayen. Les Québécois dans l'Okana gan, la ville de Vancouver, les cerisiers, mes amis, le désert... On a filmé plein d'affaires!!!

Alors je continue dans la même voie en espérant que l'équipe de Eye Steel Film me supportera toujours et que je vais apprendre encore plus de choses, comme maintenant je viens d'apprendre le html et je me casse la tête un peu avec ce site mais je fais de mon possible. Alors, je vous souhaite une bonne visite sur mon site et vous allez apprendre quelques affaires sur moi et vous allez voir quelques uns de mes amis!

Roach



Mardi le 10 avril, 2007

Salut à tous, si y'en a d'entre vous qui vont être à Toronto Samedi le 21 Avril à 23h30 et vous ne savez pas quoi faire (parce que c'est plate en crisse Toronto) et bien je vous donnes rendez-vous au cinéma Bloor (506 Bloor street West) pour une projection de Punk Le Vote dans le cadre du plus grand festival de documentaire au Canada: HOTDOCS. Si vous arrivez juste Lundi le 23 Avril à Toronto, c'est pas grave! Car il y'a une autre projection au Innis Town Hall (2 Sussex Avenue) à 18h30. J'espère vous y voir!


Samedi le 17 mars, 2007

Bonjour à tous, désolé pour le très grand retard dans le site. J'ai été très occupé, avec la promo de mon film: Punk Le Vote. Mais je ne vous ai pas oublié, ni le site d'ailleur, malgré que les dates importantes sont passées et j'en suis sincèrement désolé ... Tout d'abord, Punk Le Vote a été mis en nomination pour le prix Pierre et Yolande Perreault en tant que Meilleur Espoir Documentaire au Rendez Vous du Cinéma Québécois (RVCQ). Dans le cadre des R.V.C.Q le film a joué 2 fois, soit une fois à Montréal et une autre à Québec. Ma femme et moi avons aussi été a la projection de presse du film à Québec et nous y sommes allés en limousine, bizarre comme situation!!! Ensuite, le film a été présenté au Théatre Granada de Sherbrooke. J'ai aussi présenté le film dans quelques écoles secondaires et cégeps. Et finalement le film a été présenté dimanche dernier, le 11 Mars, à Canal D. Nous avons fais une grande fête en l'honneur de ma première télédiffusion en carrière de l'un de mes films. J'en suis très fier,mes proches aussi. Pour finir en beauté, je vous annonce que le film a été accepter au "Hot Docs: Canadian International Documentary Festival" à Toronto et qu'il est en nomination dans la catégorie "Democracy". Alors je m'excuse encore une fois de ce malheureux retard mais je vous tiendrai au courant des prochains évenements.

Mercredi le 27 septembre, 2006

AVIS À TOUS!!! Première Mondiale de "Punk Le Vote: Roach en élections" Vendredi, le 20 Octobre à 21h au Cinéma l'Excentris situé au 3536 boul. St-Laurent. On vous attend en grand nombre. Le film sera suivi d'une période de questions et réponses ainsi qu'un énorme party avec bières, groupes musicaux et DJ...

Lundi le 21 août, 2006

Bonjour à tous, un petit mot pour vous dire que mon nouveau film "Punk Le Vote", a été accepté au festival du Nouveau Cinema de Montréal, qui se passera au mois d'Octobre 2006. J'ai pas les dates de projection du film encore mais je vais vous tenir au courant. Merci.

Mercredi le 03 mai, 2006

FINALEMENT ILS SONT ARRIVÉS. Procurez vous le DVD de ROACHTRIP qui viens de sortir. Le DVD de ROACHTRIP contient le film ainsi que 2 courts-métrages de Roach, soit ZLEA et RoachTrip to Tver. Disponible en-ligne à www.eyesteelfilm.com

Jeudi le 18 avril, 2006

Un nouveau petit film pour votre plaisir... Il s'agit d'un démo d'un film que j'étais supposer faire mais qui a finalement été annulé.

Jeudi le 13 avril, 2006

On va se faire fourrer!

Lundi le 13 février, 2006

Article intéressant de La Presse!

Mardi le 24 janvier, 2006

Conservateur l'emporte

Mercredi le 11 janvier 2006




Élections fédérales 2006
Communiqué 01
pour diffusion immédiate

Le punk - cinéaste Eric Roach Denis annonce sa candidature comme candidat indépendant dans la circonscription de Outremont.

Montréal, le mardi 3 janvier 2006 - Le directeur général des élections du Canada confirme la candidature de Eric Roach Denis dans le cadre des élections du 23 janvier 2006.

Aujourd’hui, Roach est aussi un candidat indépendant qui se présente dans Outremont, un château- fort menacé. Son but est de donner une voix à ceux qui n’en ont pas, de donner accès aux personnes et aux points de vue marginaux. Il est en faveur de la représentation proportionnelle.

"Je veux amorcer un changement dans le système électoral canadien afin que la population soit représentée adéquatement et qu’elle puisse se faire entendre. L’exclusion des marginaux se retrouve partout dans notre société, mais surtout en politique. Il faut que cela change."

"La peur empêche une grande partie de la population de voter avec son cœur et ses convictions politiques. Par conséquent, elle donne son vote aux Libéraux. Elle n’est donc pas bien représentée et elle est désillusionnée. Je le remarque particulièrement parmi les jeunes souvent pauvres de ma génération. Ils ne votent jamais. Le vote stratégique ne mène à rien. Il ne faut pas voter contre quelqu’un mais plutôt pour des idées."

Renseignements:
Service de presse
(514) 937-4893
Halima Ouardiri
halima@eyesteelfilm.com

Lundi le 14 novembre 2005: ALL RIGHT! Finalement mon nouveau court-métrage que j'ai faites en Juillet avec mon chum Smurf est disponible. Vous avez juste à cliqué sur "FILMS" en bas de la page icitte et vous allé trouvé un beau film sur la ZLÉA...

25 juillet 2005: Le Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec , ainsi que Canal D ont accepté de subventionné le film Starbuck: Le Roi du Rock. Je vais officiellement faire ce film, ce n'est plus une idée mais une réalité maintenant. Je vous garderai au courant...

10 Mai 2005: Le film "DIY: Le punk Hardcore Montréalais n'a pas été accepté par la SODEC pour les subventions, donc je ne ferai pas ce film et je l'ai changer pour "Starbuck: Le Roi du Rock", mais cette nouvelle idée viens d'être choisi pour le CTV Documart à Banff. Je dois conter mon idée à 21 jurys, nous somme 6 équipes en compétition et le grand prix est 50 000$. Pour plus d'info vous pouvez visitez le : http://www.banff2005.com/pitch.details.php?p=ctv.

http://www.banff2005.com/schedule.php?d=all&s=843#843

Souhaitez moi bonne chance sur le forum!!!


 
Copyright @ Roachcam 2005